The Galapagos Islands belong to Ecuador in the northwestern part of South America. The archipelago in the Pacific Ocean consists of 19 volcanic islands, measuring in area from 1 sqm and up to 4.588 sqm. In addition, there are 100 small islands and cliffs. Galapagos Islands islands are scattered across the equator in the Pacific Ocean approx. 970 km west of Ecuador and covers a total area of ​​8.010 sqm.

De ca. 28.000 inhabitants live on five of the Galapagos Islands, most of which live on the island of Santa Cruz.

Although the Galapagos Islands are between 0,7 million and 4.5 million years old, they were not officially discovered until 1535.

At 1835, Charles Darwin came to the islands to study the unique animal and plant life not found anywhere else on earth. Later he published his famous "Origin of Species". It was the first official theory of natural selection, which is about 'the strongest survival in nature'.

In 1959, the archipelago got official status as National Park and later, in 1978, they were admitted to UNESCO's World Heritage List.

The name of the archipelago comes from the Spanish word 'Galapago' which means saddle. The name refers to the resemblance between the large shields of the archipelago's land turtles and a Spanish saddle.

Read more about the Galapagos Islands here


Get a Travel Proposal

Here you have the opportunity to book your trip.
If you just have questions for your trip, you are also welcome to ask them here.

Our travel specialists will be back as soon as possible.


Sign up for Newsletter

Would you like to be notified when there are new experiences and posts?

You will receive a news email approx. 1-2 times per. month with wonderful inspiration and tempting offers on selected trips to sea and / or land around the world! We never send you spam mails.